NLUJAA –ASSAM Presents 1st Edition of Poorvottar Samvad Parliamentary Debate 2017 in ADUJ Fest [21-23 April, Guwahati]: Total Cash Prize Rs 55,000/-; Register before 10th April, 2017



The National Law University and Judicial Academy, Assam (NLUJAA) has been established by the Government of Assam by way of enactment of the National Law School and Judicial Academy, Assam Act, 2009 (Assam Act No. XXV of 2009). The present Chancellor of the University is Hon’ble Chief Justice of Gauhati Hon’ble Justice Ajit Singh and the Vice Chancellor is Prof. (Dr.) J.S. Patil. NLUJAA is one of the youngest universities to join the ranks of the NLUs of the country. NLUJAA promotes and makes available modern legal education and research facilities to students and scholars drawn from across the country, including the North East, hailing from different socio-economic, ethnic, religious and cultural backgrounds.

About ADUJ

The First edition of the University’s Cultural and Literary Fest has been aptly christened “Adwik Ujjapan” – Sanskrit for Unique and Assamese for Celebration – which signifies the spirit and ethos the University wishes to imbibe and share with the people who become a part of this endeavour of the University. This is the first time the University is engaged in the organization of such a venture since its inception and it is with great optimism and enthusiasm, that we open the doors of our home to the world to come and be part of our celebration! Through ADUJ, we shall showcase all that the North-east has to offer through its various events which have been lined up – spanning the world of dance, arts and music.

We wish to whole-heartedly imbibe and promote the culture of such events within the University and the first edition of the Fest promises to be a new chapter in our and hopefully your lives, to encompass more interactions with other institutions and colleges across India. It is time for NLUJAA to spread its wings and soar and we hope that you are a part of this journey!

1st edition of NLUJAA’s Annual Parliamentary Debate ~ Poorvottar Samvad (2017)


“When the mob and the press and the whole world tells you to move, your job is to plant yourself like a tree by the river of truth, and tell the whole world ‘No, You Move.”

– Captain America.


“The Murals of mankind were painted by the People who could beautifully convey their disagreement to the things which others agreed upon.”

They say words are the deadliest swords that can endure a wound that one carries until eternity. And to use these very words to put your thoughts and opinions across and be recognized for them is, if not the best, but one of the greatest feats.

NLUJAA provides you with this wonderful opportunity to hone and put on your thinker’s cap once and let those words of wisdom flow out of that Great orator hidden inside you; let the world know that you have arrived at this stage called ADUJ! We welcome you to this Unique Carnival and Celebration of Joy at NLUJAA – where we get to share the incomparable celebration of togetherness of these seven sister states of the Northeast with you.

So, with this – Let the words flow!

Mark the dates in your calendar for we plan to keep you busy and enthralled from the 21st – 23rd of April 2017 and look forward to seeing you in the beautiful city of Gauhati in the heart of Assam! The event shall be graced by several well-known academicians, advocates and Associates of premier Law Firms and felicitate the winners. The total prize money that the winning team(s) can take away stands at Rs.55,000/-.

The Parliamentary Debate shall follow the Asian format of debating with the Government and Opposition teams compromising of three members each. The Rules & Regulations of the Competition shall be mailed to the registered short-listed participants separately.

Registration details:

Registration begins (For both Team and Adjudicator) – 10th Feb, 2017

Last Date of Registration (For both Team and Adjudicator) – 10th April, 2017

Registration fees- Rs. 2100/- per team & Rs. 1000/- for Adjudicator (excluding accommodation charges)

Maximum of 30 teams can register for the Debate and a maximum of two teams along with one Adjudicator can register from one institution.

Important dates –

21st April 2017 – Workshop for the Participating teams

22nd April 2017 – Preliminary Rounds and Semi-Finals

23rd April 2017 – Final Round and Felicitation Ceremony

Prize Money:

Winning Team – Rs. 25,000/-

Runners’ Up – Rs. 15,000/-

Best Speaker for Government – Rs. 5,000/-

Best Speaker for Opposition – Rs. 5,000/-

Best Adjudicator – Rs. 5,000/-

For Registration visit:

For Facebook Page Click:


Contact info:

Mr. Aditya Mishra, 5th Year, B.A LL.B (Hons.) Ph No. +91-8255090897

Ms. Antarnihita Mishra, 3rd Year, B.A LL.B (Hons.) Ph. +91-9776715775

Mr. Tathagat Sharma, 2nd Year, B.A LL.B (Hons.) Ph. +91-9678427967

Email- [email protected]


Brochure Click Here


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here